Man City breaks winning record

Manchester City surpassed Arsenal’s record winning run in English top-flight football with Wednesday night’s 4-0 victory at Swansea City to make it 15 wins in a row.

A David Silva brace — with one coming either side of half-time — and a Kevin De Bruyne free kick all before the hour mark along with a fourth from Sergio Aguero late on allowed Man City to cruise to the record-setting win.

Pep Guardiola’s streak started at the end of August with a 2-1 win away at Bournemouth, and it included a 6-0 victory at Watford and 5-0 wins against both Liverpool and Crystal Palace. And they also hit seven against Stoke City.

They had already claimed the outright record for consecutive wins in one season, as Arsenal’s run of victories spanned across two campaigns.

City have also set a new record for consecutive wins in all competitions this season, a run which ended at 20 matches with defeat to Shakhtar Donetsk in the Champions League last week.

Ten different players have scored for City during their winning run, with all bar Delph and Bernardo Silva scoring multiple goals — even defender Otamendi has four. Sergio Aguero, Gabriel Jesus and Raheem Sterling have contributed eight goals apiece.


15 wins — Manchester City (2017-18 – still active)

14 wins — Arsenal (2001-02 to 2002-03)

13 wins — Chelsea (2016-17)

12 wins — Manchester United (1999-2000 to 2000-01)

11 wins — Liverpool (2013-14), Manchester City (2014-15 to 2015-16),

Chelsea (2008-09 to 2009-10), Manchester United (2008-09)

10 wins — Arsenal (1997-98), Liverpool (2005-06), Chelsea (2005-06)

Most Popular

To Top